Western Builder

Dedicated to the people who make our built environment better and safer. We tell your stories and celebrate your successes.

Register with us and receive industry news and content only available to subscribers.


Indianapolis, IN, USA (HQ)

903 E. Ohio St., Indianapolis, IN 46202

Call: (317) 423-2325


North Dakota DOT Inducts Three Members into North Dakota Transportation Hall of Honor

BISMARCK, ND — The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) recently inducted three new members into the North Dakota Transportation Hall of Honor during a ceremony at the annual North Dakota Transportation Conference at the Bismarck Event Center.

Inductees include former NDDOT Director Grant Levi, President of Industrial Builders Inc.Paul Diederich, and highway safety trailblazer Anna Keedy.

The Transportation Hall of Honor was created to recognize those who have had a major role and made a lasting contribution to the development of the highway system on the state, county, or local level. It also honors those who participate in highway safety programs or help promote the vital function roadways provide the state and its citizens.

“The incredible advancement of the transportation industry is only because of the dedication and remarkable work of individuals like our award winners,” NDDOT Director Ron Henke said. “We’re honored to welcome them into the Transportation Hall of Honor.”

Levi worked more than 37 years improving the state highway system at NDDOT. As Director, he guided the state's transportation agency through historic infrastructure investments to help support the energy and agriculture industries.

Diederich began working in the contracting industry in 1972. Throughout his career he has been an advocate of public policy to advance transportation and infrastructure. He has also been instrumental in the development of several key transportation projects in North Dakota.

Keedy, receiving the award posthumously, was a trailblazer in safety education. Working for the Minot Public School system in the 1920s, she developed a unique curriculum to promote and educate students on highway safety. There, she was presented with a national award from the Highway Education Board.

The Hall of Honor was established in 1974 and currently has 53 members.

Your local Trimble Construction Division dealer
SITECH Northwest
Your local Trimble Construction Division dealer
SITECH Northwest
Volvo CE
Your local Volvo Construction Equipment dealer
Nuss Truck & Equipment
LBX Link Belt Excavators
Your local Link Belt dealer
Hayden-Murphy Equipment Co